New York State Legislature Adopts Resolution Celebrating Maxwell’s Centennial

New York State Legislature Adopts Resolution Celebrating Maxwell’s Centennial

Published 04/25/2024 - The New York State Legislature honored the history and legacy of the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs with the passage of a resolution celebrating the school’s 100th anniversary. The resolution was sponsored in the Senate by Sen. Rachel May and in the Assembly by Assemblymembers William Magnarelli '70 B.A. (Hist)/L'73, Pamela Hunter and Albert Stirpe.

Senate Resolution No. 1717/Assembly Resolution No. 2004 reads: “The Syracuse University's Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs is proudly aware of its distinguished past, eager to fulfill its present commitment to parents, students and the community, and planning with vision and purpose for the ebb and swell of growth and change it will encounter in the years to come; now, therefore, be it resolved, that this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of Syracuse University's Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs.”

David M. Van Slyke, dean of the Maxwell School, traveled to Albany with several school representatives to receive the resolution and to be recognized from the floors of the New York State Senate and Assembly.

“It was a true privilege to be recognized in the New York State Senate and Assembly chambers for the work the Maxwell School has accomplished over the last century,” Van Slyke says. “The New York State Legislature, and New York State government in general, are one of the many places where our students go in great numbers after graduation to start long and impactful careers in public service. To visit with so many alumni in chambers and in the capital was a pleasure.”

Founded in 1924 by George Holmes Maxwell, whose vision it was to establish a "School of American Citizenship," the Maxwell School today is the top-ranked school for public affairs, according U.S. News & World Report’s rankings, offering graduate and professional programs in public administration and international affairs, and undergraduate and graduate degrees across the social sciences, including signature interdisciplinary undergraduate programs in policy, civic engagement, environmental sustainability and international relations. It is also home to 15 interdisciplinary research centers focused on topical areas within public affairs.

Assistant Dean for Advancement Elizabeth Armstrong and Director of Accelerated Learning and Global Engagement Dan Nelson joined Van Slyke in receiving the recognition before the Senate and Assembly. The delegation also met with Maxwell alumni in the capitol and at a reception following the legislative honors.

Maxwell School alumni currently in the Legislature include Sen. Toby Ann Stavisky ’60 B.A. (Social Stds Ed), Assemblymembers Magnarelli, Nily Rozic '22 E.M.P.A. and John Lemondes ’97 MBA, '01 M.A. (PA). Hundreds more alumni work in the state Legislature and across all levels of state government, as well as in the capital region.